Central Luzon – Region III

Central Luzon

Central Luzon, or Region III, has a total land area of 1,823,082 hectares.There are six provinces that comprise the region: Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Tarlac and Zambales. The region is bordered by the provinces of Nueva Vizcaya and Pangasinan in the north, Rizal province and Manila in the south, Aurora and Quezon in the east, and the China Sea in the west.

Location. The region is predominantly flat with a couple or more mountains. Some of the mountains in the region are Mt. Arayat in Pampanga, Mt. Pinatubo in Zambales and Mt. Samat in Bataan. The long dormant Mt. Pinatubo erupted in June of 1991 that brought floods, lahar and ashfall to most provinces in the region.

From November to April, the atmospheric con-dition is dry and hot, while from May to October, the weather is mainly rainy.

Products and Livelihood. Farming is still the principal source of livelihood in the region. Central Luzon is called the “Rice Bowl of the Philippines”. Nueva Ecija ranks first among the provinces that produce rice for national consumption and even for export. Pampanga’s farmlands were greatly affected by the eruption of Mt. Pinatubo.

Government-constructed dams provide the proper irrigation for the numerous farmlands of the region. Some of these dams are Angat, Angat-Magat, Ipo and Pantabangan. The dams not only provide water for the farms but also hydroelectricity for the region and nearby provinces.

Aside from the abundant harvest of palay, there is also a bountiful harvest of corn and sugarcane in the region. There are sugarcane plantations and mills in Pampanga and Tarlac.

Some of the provinces lie in the coastal areas and people mainly live on fishing. These provinces are Bataan, Bulacan, Pampanga and Zambales.

There are also ore mines in the region. Chromite can be mined in Zambales while in Tarlac, there are copper deposits. Minerals used in the ceramics and refractory production can be found in all the provinces. Marble can be found in Bulacan and can compete with the quality of marble found in Romblon.

Region III is considered one of the most progressive regions until the Mt. Pinatubo eruption. The geographical location of Central Luzon is an excellent one: it is near Metro Manila arid in the midst of southern and northern Luzon, also considered prosperous regions. The cities of Cabanatuan and Olongapo and the capital town of Malolos, Bulacan are the centers of trade in the region.

The historic spots of the region help in the tourism industry. The provinces of Bulacan, Pampanga, Nueva Ecija and Tarlac were four of the eight provinces that first rebelled against the Spaniards in 1896. They are included in the rays of the sun in our flag that depict the eight provinces.

One of the tourist and historic spots is the Shrine of Valor in Bataan. It is constructed in honor of the Filipino soldiers that fought during World War II.

The Barasoain Church is as historic as the aforementioned, being the place where the First Philippine Republic was founded in January 23, 1898. It was also the place where the Malolos Congress opened and the first Constitution was created.


  • Aurora
  • Bataan
  • Bulacan
  • Nueva Ecija
  • Pampanga, Tarlac
  • Zambales


  • Balanga, Bataan
  • Malolos, Bulacan
  • Meycauayan, Bulacan
  • San Jose del Monte, Bulacan
  • Cabanatuan, Nueva Ecija
  • Gapan, Nueva Ecija
  • Muñoz, Nueva Ecija
  • Palayan, Nueva Ecija
  • San Jose, Nueva Ecija
  • Angeles, Pampanga
  • San Fernando, Pampanga
  • Tarlac, Tarlac
  • Olongapo, Zambales



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: