Central Visayas – Region VII

CEBU - Central Visayas (Region VII)

Central VisayasRegion VII consists of four provinces, namely, Bohol, Cebu, Negros Oriental, and Siquijor and 3 independent cities which are Cebu City, Mandaue City and Lapu-Lapu City. The region demarcates the territory occupied by the native speakers of Cebuano.

Regional center: Cebu City

Population: 5,706,953

  • Density 381 per km²

Area: 14,852 km²


  • Provinces 4
  • Cities 12
  • Municipalities 120
  • Barangays 3,003
  • Cong. districts 15

Languages: Cebuano, Boholano, Porohanon


  • Bohol/Tagbilaran City/1,137,268
  • Cebu/Cebu City/2,160,569
  • Negros Oriental/Dumaguete City/1,126,061
  • Siquijor/Siquijor/81,598
  • Cebu City/—/718,821
  • Lapu-Lapu City/—/217,019
  • Mandaue City/—/259,728

Although Cebu City, Mandaue City and Lapu-Lapu City are often grouped under the province of Cebu for statistical purposes by the National Statistics Office, as highly urbanized cities they are administratively independent from the province.

Component cities

  1. Bais City, Negros Oriental
  2. Bayawan City, Negros Oriental
  3. Canlaon City, Negros Oriental
  4. Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
  5. Tanjay City, Negros Oriental
  6. Danao City, Cebu
  7. Talisay City, Cebu
  8. Toledo City, Cebu
  9. Tagbilaran City, Bohol


The terrain is characterized by highlands with narrow coastal strips of arable land. Bohol, however, has a level plateau upon which its agricultural areas are concentrated.

Bohol - Central Visayas (Region VII)

Region 7 or Central Visayas has many wonderful travel destinations abundant in natural resources, eco tourism, white sandy beaches, fabulous resorts. Cebu City which is the capital of Cebu serves as the main business center of the whole Visayas Region. Dumaguete City, the capital of Negros Oriental still boast of being the right place to get higher degrees with its reference as the University Town of the Central Visayas with the attraction of dolphin and whale watching in its glittery bay. Tagbilaran City of Bohol remains place to stay when visiting the province due to its proximity to all the tourism spots that it offers especially the world renowned Chocolate Hills. Siquijor on the other hand boasts of its wildlife adventures, eco tourism, crystal clear water and white sandy beaches. Annual colrful festival celebrations are the most visited on these part of the region with the Sinulog Festival (Cebu), the Buglasan Festival (Negros Oriental), Sandugo Festival (Bohol) and the Dilaab Festival (Siquijor) but there are more festivals or town fiestas celebrated and the mentioned are only the popular ones in these 4 provinces.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: