The country’s largest island, with an area of 40,420 sq mi (104,688 sq km), it is the site of  Quezon City and  Manila, the nation’s capital. Located in the northern Philippine archipelago, it is bounded by the Philippine Sea, the Sibuyan Sea, and the South China Sea, and it is separated from Taiwan and by the Luzon Strait. It represents one-third of the country’s land area and half of its population. It is largely mountainous; in 1991 the eruption of Mount Pinatubo altered the island’s geography. It is the country’s leader in both industry and agriculture.

Below are the 8 of the 17 administrative regions that merely serve as administrative groupings of provinces.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: